Nigeria Covid-19 Summit 2021
6-7 December 2021, Abuja

Organized by the Presidential Steering Committee on COVID-19 in partnership with the Coalition of Development Partners in Nigeria.

Host: Boss Mustapha, Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Chairman Presidential Steering Committee on COVID-19.


"Pushing through the Last Mile to End the Pandemic and Build Back Better"

  1. Leadership And Governance In Pandemic Recovery And Reconstruction
  2. Nigeria’s Health-Security Framework For Effective Response To Global Health Security Threats.

Summit Objectives
  1. To review the country’s COVID-19 response from February 2020 to November 2021- to identify successes, gaps, and lessons to be learned.
  2. To identify resources and develop strategies that will actualize the country’s expressed international commitments towards ending COVID-19 by 31st December 2022.
  3. To develop an Accountability Framework for COVID-19 response and health security in Nigeria.
  4. To synthesize the blueprint for Nigeria’s pandemic recovery, reconstruction, health security; and sustainability.
  5. To articulate actionable recommendations to President Muhammadu Buhari on the governance structure, resources, and policies needed to end COVID-19 in Nigeria by 31st December 2022, and build back the health system and the economy to better respond to future health-security threats.

For Whom?:

This summit will be an august assemblage of key actors in the health,  economic, security, and policy-making sectors of Nigeria. Participants will include:

  • Members of the Presidential Steering Committee on COVID-19
  • Members of Health Committees of the National Assembly
  • Health Committee Chairmen of States Houses of Assembly
  • State Commissioners of Health
  • State COVID-19 Task Force Chairpersons
  • Nigerian Governors Forum
  • Office of the National Security Adviser, the Military and all security agencies;
  • National Bio-safety Management Agency (NBSMA)
  • Health and Economic experts
  • Key players in the private sector of Nigeria
  • The Media
  • Civil society organizations and professional bodies
  • Development Partners.
  • Academia

Programme Committee

Programme/Technical Committee

Chair: Dr. Aminu Magashi (AHBN)

Alternate Chair: Dr. Emmanuel Agogo (Resolve to Save Lives)

  1. Dr. Ifedayo Adetifa (NCDC)
  2. Dr. Sylvia Adebajo (UMB)
  3. Dr. Sanmi Adedokun (UMB)
  4. Dr. Assad Hassan (PSC)
  5. Dr. Rex Mpazanje (WHO)
  6. Dr. John Oladejo (NCDC)
  7. Dr. Olamide Okulaja (LSMOH)
  8. Dr. Mary Boyd (US CDC)
  9. Dr. Arisekola Jinadu (NCDC)
  10. Dr. Henry Omoregie (NIPRD)
  11. Dr. Boluo Omotayo  (US CDC)
  12. Dr. Emem Iwara (UMB)
  13. Dr, Ibrahim Dalhatu (US CDC)
  14. Dr. Saleh (US CDC)
  15. Juliana Aribo-Abude
  16. Dr. Dotun Bobadoye (GET)
  17. Njide Ndili (Pharm Access)
  18. Zouera Youssoufou
  19. Dr. Olumide Okunola (World Bank)
  20. Dr. Michael Olugbile (World Bank)
  21. Dr. Wilfred Haggai  (NCAA)
  22. Dr. Okatubo (Port Health, FMOH)
  23. Ms. Uche Osoka (Faciven Events)

Advocacy and Stakeholders Mobilization

Chair : PS Adekunle Olusegun (Office of the SGF)

Alternate Chair : Dr. Ngozi Azodoh (DPRS FMOH)

  • Dr. Mukhtar Muhammad (PSC)
  • Dr. Walter Mulombo (WHO)
  • Dr. Abdulwahab (NGF)

Resource Mobilization Committee

Chairman: Dr. Ayodeji Okunola (World Bank)

Alternate Chair: Dr. Ibrahim Atta (PSC)

  • Dr. Mary Boyd (US CDC)
  • Dr. Amede Osakwe (PSC)
  • Mr. Obinna Ukachukwu (Sterling Bank)
  • Mr. Dozie Ezechukwu (Global Fund/CCM)

Logistics Committee

Chair: Ms. Uche Osoka (Faciven Events)

Alternate Chair: Dr. Ogbonna Amanze (PSC)

  • Mrs. Kemi Ladeinde (NCDC/REDISSE)
  • Dr. Usman Abdulkarim Yahaya (NCDC/REDISSE)
  • Miss Lydia Abbah (PSC)  
  • Mr. Abduljabba Umar (PSC) 
  • Dr. Rose Aguolu (NACA) 
  • Mr. Tajudeen Arowolo (NCDC)  
  • Mr. Onyebuchi Okoro (FMOH)
  • Dr. Lawrence Njoku (PSC)  
  • Dr. Gozie Ujam (NACA)

Budget and Finance Committee

Chair: Mr. Yakubu Jibrin (PSC)

Alternate Chair: Dr.Ayodeji Ajiboye (World Bank)

  • Mr. Akoh Abbah (PSC)

Media and Publicity Committee

Chair: Joe Mutah (FMI)

Alternate Chair: Dr. Halilu Usman (US CDC)

  • Mrs. Toyin Aderibigbe (NACA)

Security Committee

Chair: Engr. James Akujobi (NEMA) 

  • Dr. Levin Damisah (Office of NSA)
  • Navy Captain Pepple (Nigerian Navy)
  • Cmdt Babalola Olaniyi (NSCDC)
  • DCP. Basil Idegwu (NPF)
  • JOSIAH Emerole (NAPTIP)
  • DCG Agunloye Tesleem. O (FFS)
  • Julius B. Obukohwo (DSS)
  • Mr Ajatta (FRSC) 
  • Mohammed Lawal  Abubakar (NIS) 
  • Dapo Akingbade (NEMA)   

Medical Committee

Chair: Dr. Kawu (Acting Secretary for Health, FCT)

Alternate  Chair: Dr. Adeoye Adetiloye (FCDA)

  • Dr. Olayinka Obanewa (FCDA)
  • Pharmacist Makama Adamu (FCDA)
  • Nurse Mary Ogudu (FCDA)

Summit Secretariat

Presidential Steering Committee (PSC) Secretariat 16 Ibrahim Taiwo Street, 3 Arms Zone, Aso Rock Villa, Abuja, Nigeria

Tel: +234 806 575 1880, +234 803 314 1987